TAX UPDATE: Current and Proposed Changes to the Calculation of Tax Interest Expense of Foreign Banks

Apr 1, 2005

The Internal Revenue Service and Treasury Department recently issued Notice 2005-53 describing current and proposed changes to the tax rules for determining the interest expense of a foreign bank that is engaged in a U.S. trade or business. The notic ...

Explore

FFIEC Releases Bank Secrecy Act / Anti-Money Laundering Examination Manual

Apr 1, 2005

On June 30, 2005, the Federal Financial Institution Examination Council (FFIEC) released the Bank Secrecy Act (BSA) / Anti-Money Laundering (AML) Examination Manual. The manual was developed jointly by federal banking agencies and the Financial Crime ...

Explore

FDIC Proposes Annual Audit and Reporting Requirement Changes

Apr 1, 2005

In June 2005, the Board of Directors of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) approved a proposed amendment to the FDIC’s annual audit and reporting requirements. Under the proposal, the FDIC would amend Part 363 of its regulations b ...

Explore

Access Controls Safeguard Customer Information

Apr 1, 2005

Access Controls Safeguard Customer Information By Trevor Foo, CISA, CISM, MCSE, MCDBA (tfoo@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News Besides the reams and piles of paper on which most dealerships capture, store, and transmit customer informat ...

Explore

Protect Your Dealership: Business Contingency Planning

Jan 1, 2005

Protect Your Dealership: Business Contingency Planning By Tony Argiz, CPA, ASA, ABV, CFE (targiz@mbafcpa.com) and Stuart Rosenberg, CPA, ABV (srosenberg@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News While the 2004 Hurricane Season may be top of mi ...

Explore

2004 Tax Law Changes

Dec 1, 2004

2004 Tax Law Changes By Santiago Pujals, CPA (spujals@mba-cpa.com) published in Professional Auto News On October 22, 2004, the “American Jobs Creation Act of 2004” was signed into law. Some of the changes are designed to be tax breaks wh ...

Explore

By the Numbers - Journal Entries

Nov 1, 2004

By the Numbers – Journal Entries published in Professional Auto News As a firm that specializes in dealership operations and accounting, Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra have had a unique opportunity to be exposed to hundreds of dealers throu ...

Explore

Year-End Tax Strategies for Auto Dealerships

Oct 1, 2004

Year-End Tax Strategies for Auto Dealerships By Santiago Pujals, CPA (spujals@mba-cpa.com) published in Professional Auto News As 2004 comes to an end, dealership operators should review their financial performance and begin planning and confirming t ...

Explore

Family Wealth Preserved With Family Limited Partnerships

Sep 1, 2004

Family Wealth Preserved With Family Limited Partnerships By Tony Argiz, CPA, ASA, ABV, CFE (targiz@mbafcpa.com), Kashyap Bakhai, CPA, ABV (kbakhai@mba-cpa.com) and Poonam Vaidya, CBA, ASA published in Professional Auto News Preserving family wealth i ...

Explore

Maximize Your Virtual Sales Lot

Jun 1, 2004

Maximize Your Virtual Sales Lot By Phil Villegas (pvillegas@mba-cpa.com) and Tony Argiz, CPA, ASA, ABV, CFE (targiz@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News If you’re one of the estimated 92 percent of new car dealers that have dealersh ...

Explore