Accounting for Deferred Loan Fees Is Subject to Increasing Scrutiny

Jan 1, 2006

Regulatory examiners are increasingly focusing on the matter of deferred loan fees under the Statement of Financial Accounting Standards (SFAS) No. 91 (Accounting for Nonrefundable Fees and Costs Associated with Originating or Acquiring Loans and Ini ...

Explore

Time is Running Out for IRS Form W-8/1042 Voluntary Disclosure Program

Jan 1, 2006

As most local financial institutions with international clients have been made aware, the IRS is currently undertaking a review of withholding and information reporting on payments made to nonresidents of the U.S., as well as related policies and pro ...

Explore

Understanding Your Balance Sheet

Jan 1, 2006

Understanding Your Balance Sheet By Tony Argiz, CPA, CFE, ABV (targiz@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News As we enter the new year, close attention to your balance sheet can make the difference between a successful 2006 and disappointing ...

Explore

Behind Closed Doors: Nine Steps You Can Take to Protect Your F&I Department

Dec 1, 2005

Behind Closed Doors: Nine Steps You Can Take to Protect Your F&I Department By Phil Villegas (pvillegas@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News For many dealers, the inner-workings of Finance & Insurance department can be somewhat of ...

Explore

Protecting Your Dealership from Disaster

Oct 1, 2005

Protecting Your Dealership from Disaster By Tony Argiz, CPA, ASA, ABV, CFE (targiz@mbafcpa.com) and Stuart Rosenberg, CPA, ABV (srosenberg@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News In the wake of Hurricane Katrina, and with the 2005 hurricane ...

Explore

Protecting the Lifeblood of a Dealership By Implementing Solid Inventory Controls

Sep 1, 2005

Protecting the Lifeblood of a Dealership By Implementing Solid Inventory Controls By Steven Morrison (smorris@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News The bulk of a dealership’s value is the vehicle inventory sitting on the lot and the ...

Explore

Keeping an Eye on the Cash

Aug 1, 2005

Keeping an Eye on the Cash By Steven Morrison (smorris@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News When asked, automobile dealers will of course state that they are concerned with protecting their assets. In fact, many dealers demonstrate the de ...

Explore

Consolidating the Business Office To Achieve Powerful Results

Jul 1, 2005

Consolidating the Business Office To Achieve Powerful Results By Steven Morrison (smorris@mbafcpa.com) and Phil Villegas (pvillegas@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News Over the past decade, automobile dealerships have driven the consolid ...

Explore

Avoid Irs Penalties On Cash Reporting Form 8300

Jun 1, 2005

Avoid Irs Penalties On Cash Reporting Form 8300 By Tony Argiz, CPA, ASA, ABV, CVA, CFE (targiz@mbafcpa.com) and Santiago Pujals, CPA (spujals@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News Imagine you, the owner or general manager of a dealership, ...

Explore

Trusting in Trusts: Estate Planning Tools

May 1, 2005

Trusting in Trusts: Estate Planning Tools By Kashyap Bakhai, CPA (kbakhai@mbafcpa.com) and Leif Novie, CPA, JD (lnovie@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News By definition a trust is a fiduciary relationship in which a trustee holds the tit ...

Explore