Protecting Your Dealership from Disaster

Oct 1, 2005

Protecting Your Dealership from Disaster By Tony Argiz, CPA, ASA, ABV, CFE (targiz@mbafcpa.com) and Stuart Rosenberg, CPA, ABV (srosenberg@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News In the wake of Hurricane Katrina, and with the 2005 hurricane ...

Explore

Protecting the Lifeblood of a Dealership By Implementing Solid Inventory Controls

Sep 1, 2005

Protecting the Lifeblood of a Dealership By Implementing Solid Inventory Controls By Steven Morrison (smorris@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News The bulk of a dealership’s value is the vehicle inventory sitting on the lot and the ...

Explore

Keeping an Eye on the Cash

Aug 1, 2005

Keeping an Eye on the Cash By Steven Morrison (smorris@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News When asked, automobile dealers will of course state that they are concerned with protecting their assets. In fact, many dealers demonstrate the de ...

Explore

Consolidating the Business Office To Achieve Powerful Results

Jul 1, 2005

Consolidating the Business Office To Achieve Powerful Results By Steven Morrison (smorris@mbafcpa.com) and Phil Villegas (pvillegas@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News Over the past decade, automobile dealerships have driven the consolid ...

Explore

Avoid Irs Penalties On Cash Reporting Form 8300

Jun 1, 2005

Avoid Irs Penalties On Cash Reporting Form 8300 By Tony Argiz, CPA, ASA, ABV, CVA, CFE (targiz@mbafcpa.com) and Santiago Pujals, CPA (spujals@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News Imagine you, the owner or general manager of a dealership, ...

Explore

Trusting in Trusts: Estate Planning Tools

May 1, 2005

Trusting in Trusts: Estate Planning Tools By Kashyap Bakhai, CPA (kbakhai@mbafcpa.com) and Leif Novie, CPA, JD (lnovie@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News By definition a trust is a fiduciary relationship in which a trustee holds the tit ...

Explore

TAX UPDATE: Current and Proposed Changes to the Calculation of Tax Interest Expense of Foreign Banks

Apr 1, 2005

The Internal Revenue Service and Treasury Department recently issued Notice 2005-53 describing current and proposed changes to the tax rules for determining the interest expense of a foreign bank that is engaged in a U.S. trade or business. The notic ...

Explore

FFIEC Releases Bank Secrecy Act / Anti-Money Laundering Examination Manual

Apr 1, 2005

On June 30, 2005, the Federal Financial Institution Examination Council (FFIEC) released the Bank Secrecy Act (BSA) / Anti-Money Laundering (AML) Examination Manual. The manual was developed jointly by federal banking agencies and the Financial Crime ...

Explore

FDIC Proposes Annual Audit and Reporting Requirement Changes

Apr 1, 2005

In June 2005, the Board of Directors of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) approved a proposed amendment to the FDIC’s annual audit and reporting requirements. Under the proposal, the FDIC would amend Part 363 of its regulations b ...

Explore

Access Controls Safeguard Customer Information

Apr 1, 2005

Access Controls Safeguard Customer Information By Trevor Foo, CISA, CISM, MCSE, MCDBA (tfoo@mbafcpa.com) published in Professional Auto News Besides the reams and piles of paper on which most dealerships capture, store, and transmit customer informat ...

Explore